Neyland beat Tenby 4-2

Nomad's goal scorers (L to R) Justin Harding, Wayne Vaughan-Parry, Gary Power
Nomad’s goal scorers (L to R) Justin Harding, Wayne Vaughan-Parry, Gary Power

On Saturday 31st October, the Nomads entertained Tenby in the First Division of the Pembrokeshire League. The home side took little time in settling into the game and playing so,e good passing football. After just 10 minutes an accurate cross from Skinny Harding found Wayne Parry on the far side of the opponents goal and he headed home with pin-point accuracy. Within another 10 minutes the Nomads took a two goal lead when Harding struck from close range. Toward the end of the first half, Gary Power went on a weaving run, passing several Tenby players, and struck the ball low into the right hand corner of the net. However before the break came there was a determined run by Tenby’s Sam Christopher which resulted in him striking home to reduce the deficit. So the home side went into the interval with a 3 – 1 goal margin.

The initial impetus at the start of the second half by the home side was thwarted by Tenby and there appeared to be a ‘turning of the tide’ when the visitors launched a couple of positive moves. Neyland pulled things back in their favour when Wayne Vaughan-Parry struck his second goal of the game. However the dominance of the first half did not really materialise and a couple of defensive errors allowed Tenby to score their second goal to give a final tally of 4 – 2 to the Nomads.
Team: Patrick Hannon, Nicky Koomen, Nathan Banner, Paul Hannon, Scott Jones, Sean Hannon (Capt.), Gary Power, Henry Durrant, Mikey Chandler, Wayne Vaughan-Parry, Justin Harding, Nathan Warlow, Andrew Kemp.

Next week the 1st X1 has been drawn at home to Penyfan in the West Wales Cup, KO 2.00pm

The second eleven were away to Letterston in the 4th Division Cup. They came away with a creditable 4 – 1 win thanks to Andrew Smith (3) and Joe Charlton.
Team: Marlon Hutchings, Jo Durrant, Oli Marshall, Jarred Campbell, Lee Phillips, Callum Power, Phil Bevan, Joe Charlton, Ashley Hutchings, Andrew Smith, Aaron Bowles, Jason Davies, Sam Harding, Kyle Arran